Stop calculating risk

Posted: November 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

I was once put into a situation like this, whereby acting on pure instinct saved someone’s life. Thinking back, one could argue that I was perhaps foolish, but I couldn’t turn by back or simply ignore someone who was calling out for help.

It was one of those midsummer days in Cape Town during the month of February. It was really a scorcher that day whereby the only relieve would be the beach. After knocking off from work and managing to call some dudes to tag along, it was just what we need at the end of long day.

On our arrival we noticed that the beach was quite full and the life guards on duty were busy doing their training routine.  While getting ready to go and experience pure joy, the afternoon almost turned into a nightmare. A lady, on a boogie board, who was clearly unable to swim, got herself into big trouble. A freakish wave smashed her off her board and a tide took her deeper and deeper.

I was the first to see her and the only one who could respond to her cry, but without thinking, I just went in after her. I eventually got to her, but I was extremely tired. The lady was so terrified and panicky, she started pulling me down with her and at that point we were both in serious trouble.

Like they say a true miracle took place that day and we both survived, but like I said the outcome could have been so much worse, because I failed to calculate the risk involved.      

Leave a comment